Top 5 Actresses

For some reason, I got the first two days muddled up in my head and thought day one was top 5 actors so started planning out the post in my head, only to open up the post an entry and the file with the list in it to discover

Day 1) 5 Favorite Actresses

1) Scarlett Johansson.
I will watch pretty much anything with Scarlett in it. I think she is a very talented actress with great range. She’s also a stunning looking woman. I first saw her in Ghost World, way back in 2001 but it was Lost In Translation that made me sit up and really pay attention to her. I think my favourite role of hers is Black Widow though

2) Carrie Fisher
Princess Leia has been my role model for as long as I can remember. The first time we see this young woman and she’s standing up to an evil dictator who is psychological torturing her and holding her prisoner and she is not cowering but standing her own. And she does more of the rescuing herself than Luke and Han!
As I grew up, I learned more about her as a person, about her struggles with addiction and mental health and how strong and candid a woman she was. She did so much for Hollywood that so few people really know about. The world surely lost an icon, a force if you pardon the pun, when she passed.

3) Amanda Tapping
Who doesn’t love Sam Carter and Helen Magnus? You just have to look at all the different AU versions of Sam, all the different ways Amanda can/has played the same character to realise she’s a bloody talented woman. And not just in front of the camera – she’s become a seriously sought after genre director which as a woman, even in 2017, is a hell of an achievement. Plus she comes over as so goofy and caring.

4) Emma Watson
I remember thinking when the first Harry Potter film promo pictures came out that Emma was going to grow up to be a heart-breaker and how right was I? She’s smart and thoughtful and stylish and I’ve felt sort of privileged to watch her grow into the amazing woman she’s becoming. I really look forward to seeing what’s next for her and where’s she’s going to go both as an actress and a… can I call a girl a statement?

5) Helena Bonham Carter
I first saw Helena in, I think, Big Fish and I love how she has this wonderful ‘kooky’ surreal edge to her. She really shines in the slightly out-there roles like Bellatrix or Mrs Lovett. I love her work with Tim Burton but i also thinks she’s amazing in traditional roles like Miss Havisham or Ophelia. Very talented lady

Leave a Reply

