On Writing

Have first lines always been this difficult or am I just seriously out of practice at writing fanfiction?

I have mostly plotted out my story for my jd_ficathon assignment, I know when and how it’s based and everything. I’m just not entirely sure how it starts or whether it’s from Jack or Daniel’s POV. I know it’s based during/post The Light so perhaps it’ll serve me well for watching it and making some notes about things and maybe that’ll help me find the first line.

I wish I was one of those writers who can jump in at a random point in a story and then backfill – but if I start at point B, point A never happens. And as a reader, I don’t like stories that make me feel I’ve been dropped into the middle of things, I like to have a defined start, so I know where I am.

One thought on “On Writing

  1. Strangely, I find the first lines of anything the easiest, I just struggle to make the plot work after that. I’ve started so many different stories because of this. Writing is such a challenge, but it’s so worth it when you get there. Good luck getting started!

    – Amy (mamyology.com)
    (Ignore whatever I’m logged in as hah!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

